Chester

I never thought a celebrity death would affect me so much

 

Always slightly annoyed, confused,

And down at the stars fading and perishing

 

But never mourning, physically struck

Now tears are pouring, and I’m numb

I feel heavy, the idea you’re gone

Has my heart racing, slowing, stopping

 

You taught me how to cope as a kid

Screaming, roaring, and whispering lullabies

I’m ashamed I hadn’t listened to the last few records

 

But now I can’t stop listening

And your words horrify me

Calling out and nobody was listening

 

It’s funny, no one does listen till it’s too late

What cheap irony, everyone must’ve thought

They were just stupid songs

To rock and jump to

 

I’m sorry…

There’s nothing else

 

I hope you’ve shed those demons

 

Good, goodbye

Chester

 

 

 

One thought on “Chester

Leave a Reply

